Are You a Legal Professional?

Health Care, Human Services, and Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

What Is Title VI?

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 is a national law that protects persons from discrimination based on their race, color, or national origin in programs and activities that receive federal financial assistance. If you are eligible for Medicaid, other health care, or human services, you cannot be denied assistance because of your race, color, or national origin. The Office for Civil Rights (OCR) in the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) enforces Title VI as well as other civil rights laws.

Some of the institutions or programs that may be covered by Title VI are:

  • Extended care facilities
  • Public assistance programs
  • Nursing homes
  • Adoption agencies
  • Hospitals
  • Day care centers
  • Mental health centers
  • Senior citizen centers
  • Medicaid and Medicare
  • Family health centers and clinics
  • Alcohol and drug treatment centers

Prohibited Discriminatory Acts

There are many forms of illegal discrimination based on race, color, or national origin that frequently limit the opportunities of minorities to gain equal access to services. A recipient of Federal financial assistance may not, based on race, color, or national origin:

  • Deny services, financial aid or other benefits provided as a part of health or human service programs.
  • Provide a different service, financial aid or other benefit, or provide them in a different manner from those provided to others under the program.
  • Segregate or separately treat individuals in any matter related to the receipt of any service, financial aid or other benefit....
Next Steps
Contact a qualified civil rights attorney
to help you protect your rights.
(e.g., Chicago, IL or 60611)

Help Me Find a Do-It-Yourself Solution